Blur The Magic Whip

It’s 16 years since their last album as a four-piece and 27th April sees the release of a brand new album from Blur on Parlophone, titled The Magic Whip. The recordings, which began during a five-day break in touring in Spring 2013 - at Avon Studios in Kowloon, Hong Kong - were put aside when the group finished touring and returned to their respective lives.

 Last November Graham Coxon revisited the tracks and, drafting in Blur’s early producer Stephen Street, he worked with the band on the material. Albarn then added lyrics and the 12 tracks of The Magic Whip are the result. The full tracklisting is: Lonesome Street, New World Towers, Go Out, Ice Cream Man, Thought I Was a Spaceman, I Broadcast, My Terracotta Heart, There are Too Many of Us, Ghost Ship, Pyongyang, Ong Ong, Mirror Ball. 

See the video for the first track off the album Go Out here: 
The Magic Whip will be available as a digital download, on CD and as a 2-disc vinyl set.

Photo courtesy of Warner Music Malaysia

The album cover artwork features the Traditional Chinese words of 模糊 魔鞭 (which literally means Blur Magic-whip) in neon-lit fashion.

Photo courtesy of Warner Music Malaysia

As the only artists to play Hyde Park four times, Blur will return to the historic London park for a headline show on Saturday 20th June 2015 as part of Barclaycard presents British Summer Time Hyde Park. Tickets go on general sale at 9.00am on Friday 27th February and are priced from £75, for full details visit

News of Blur’s new album and show was announced exclusively with Facebook at a press conference in London’s Chinatown which also gave fans across the world the chance to be part of the event via a live stream and Q&A. With millions of fans following Blur on Facebook, this was an opportunity for the band to speak directly to their fans in real time, answering questions via their profile page.

Watch Blur's Go Out video here 

Written in collaboration with Warner Music Malaysia.